2018 Grading document


Judging and Scoring

Classification: Poor, Bad, Average, Good and Excellent

Basic Scale: Whole and half numbers - 1.0, 5.5, and 2.5 for example

Advance Scale: 0.2, 0.3, 0.7, and 0.8

Elite Scale: 0.1, 0.4, 0.6, and 0.9

1. First Ride
Decide if the ride fell into high, low or middle end of the above classification and use BASIC SCALE to score.

2. Second Ride
Compare ride to first, and use the CLASSIFICATION scale to score worse or better than first in BASIC SCALE.
Now the judge has a basis from which to use the advanced and elite scales.

3. Third Ride:
If the ride is classified higher or lower than the first two rides use BASIC SCALE to score.
If the competitor is CLASSIFIED between his/her first and second rides use the ADVANCED (.2, .3, .7, & 8) to score.

4. Fourth Ride
If the ride is classified outside the first three rides score in BASIC SCALE to score.
If the judge considers the competitor ride falls somewhere between a ride on which the advanced scale was used then use the ELITE SCALE to score.
If the judge considers the ride fell between rides where only the BASIC SCALE was used then score in ADVANCED SCALE.

5 Successive Rides:
Successive rides score as per 4.

The most important decision is to classify the ride as bad, poor, average, good or excellent by understanding the description for each division.